Day 11: VBS

Yes, I do realize that I am very far behind. This past week we had Vacation Bible School at my church and my life consisted of work, VBS and sleep. There wasn’t very much time for anything else and I wasn’t motivated to do much of anything else either. I’ll do my best to still fit in 30 blogs this month.

Since I missed the past week due to VBS, I thought I would dedicate today’s blog to it. I’ve helped out with my church’s VBS as long as I can remember. For a very long time I did the skits that took place in the beginning. I probably did that for at least 5 or more years. I also have led the singing, done a special song in sign language and taught many years. Basically, a VBS hasn’t gone by where I didn’t participate in some way. However, this year, I was asked to be on the VBS committee. I thought, “how hard can planning VBS be? Sure I’ll do it.”

How is it possible to be involved with something for so many years and not have the slightest clue how much work, planning and preparation it takes? I, my friend, was very naive. It is a ton of work and commitment. Unlike just showing up the week of VBS, this commitment is for months prior to the actual week. And my term for being on the VBS committee? 3 years 🙂

At one point I was even wondering what I could do to get myself out of being on the committee. I know that is absolutely horrible, but that is truly how I felt.

Yet, this past week as I would stand in the back of the sanctuary watching all of the kids do the motions to the songs and yelling at the top of their lungs… I loved it. And it made every planning meeting worth it.

This past week I was thinking about this verse:

“Whatever you do, work at it with all your heart, as working for the Lord, not for men.”
Colossians 3:23

I know this verse is a very familiar one to most, but this week I really got to thinking about it. What does it truly mean to work for the Lord and not men. If my boss was actually God, I’d probably treat him a lot different and my work ethic might change semi-drastically. But I do think this is what Paul was after. It shouldn’t matter who my boss is or who’s leadership I’m under. I need to be responding and working in such a way that it would seem that God was my physical boss. Too often I slack off and can have a pretty lousy attitude when it comes to doing something I don’t like or I’m too tired to do.

Yet, it is Jesus’ heart that no matter what I’m doing, that I would be giving my whole heart and effort towards.

Categories: Jesus teaching, thoughts | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

