Day 13: A Stumbling Block

I came across this article the other day. And it got me thinking, and I’m sure that you’ll have some comments about it too. So please quick skim over it and perhaps check out the video there too before reading on.

Here are my thoughts/history on this. I’ve gone through periods of my life where I dealt a lot with what people thought about my appearance. I wouldn’t wear spaghetti strap anything let alone a tube top out of fear of immodesty. Over a year ago, I attended this meeting and people were praying over people and someone prayed over me, “Ashlea, I just break shame off of you in the name of Jesus.” I immediately began to weep. I had know idea what was going on inside but I knew there was something in his prayer.

After some reflection and asking the Lord it because obvious to me that I was holding myself under this heavy thing of oppression and what people thought of me. After this realization and therefore new found freedom was when I got my nose pierced.

Now, before you start getting worked up, I didn’t get my nose pierced to be radical or a rebel. Because if you know me, I’m neither. Really, I couldn’t even try to be if I wanted to.

It was just that I always wanted to get my nose pierced. I thought they looked really cool and would get one. The only thing that was holding me back was the fear of what everyone was going to think of me. Now there is a fine line here of being considerate and being under oppression. For me, I wasn’t doing a lot of things because I cared so much about what other people would think. And therefore was walking under all of this false shame and condemnation.

Now to the point of the article that I asked you to read. I agree with him that for a majority of the church, we hold woman as the sole reason for man’s falling into temptation. It is all our fault when one brother stumbles. Sometimes I feel like the guy has no ownership in his own sin. This article is not condoning wearing shirts where your boobs are hanging out. There is still room for modesty here. But what I am talking about is the fact that I should feel OK wearing a spaghetti strap shirt and even a bikini if I feel like it. As long as certain areas are properly covered. God made me the way I am, and I don’t feel like I should be ashamed of that and feel like I have to “hide.”

We need to own up to our shortcomings. Instead of accusing others as being stumbling blocks I think we need to reevaluate our own lives and what is truly going on in our hearts.

I’m not saying that I agree 100% with the article or that I think Krystal’s video is tasteful and appropriate, but I do think the author has some valid points.

I’d love to hear your comments about this! Do you think I’m off the wall? Do you agree? What are your thoughts about the article and Krystal’s video? Please leave your comments!

Categories: Jesus teaching, thoughts | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

