Day 7: Christianese Part 2

As much as I love words that apply to Christians, I do believe there is some hindrances to Christianese.

For those who have grown up in the church, we somehow have this inherent knowledge of knowing the right answer. Due to years and years of Sunday School and VBS, we’ve come to this place of an immense amount of head knowledge and unfortunately very little experience.

I now have a confession. This past week of blogging what the Lord has been speaking to me has been a little fake (for lack of a better word). You see, within this past week I can’t think of one time that I actually sat down and intentionally spent a significant amount of time with the Lord. Granted, I am the first one to say that the Lord speaks to us outside of quiet time. Frankly, our whole day is jammed packed full with the Lord speaking to us. Many of us (me included) just fail to tune in. So this past week of blogs have been things that yes, I do believe and the Lord has talked to me about. However, those blogs came more from a reserve.

Each of us are filled. We have an abundant amount of resources. Bibles, devotionals, commentaries, Christian radio, speakers and the list goes on. Each one of these we have unlimited access to. I fill, fill, fill, but rarely deposit. Therefore, I have this pretty vast reserve of “Christianese.”

I’m not sure if it’s this way for everyone, but it is this way for me. When I do “deposit” the things the Lord has revealed to me, I get more revelation out of it. It’s similar to the feeding of the 5,000. Somehow the food kept multiplying. When I speak or write the words out, a greater amount of understanding comes from what I’m talking about.

All this to say, deposit some of your Christianese, and I’ll try my best to intentionally make time to receive new things from the Lord each day.

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

