Give A Little

I love God moments, and I’m pretty sure I had one yesterday. Let me tell why.

I had to get my social security card reissued since that was in the wallet that got stolen in Spain (yes, my wallet got stolen… post to come soon.) I had heard horror stories about the Social Security place. How it takes forever and people are generally not in a good mood.

I had a Vacation Bible School meeting in the morning which took a little bit longer than expected. 3 1/2 hours later, I headed to the Social Security place. One thing that everyone did tell me was to get there right away in the morning. Instead, I opted for 2:30 in the afternoon.

I walk in and the lobby is packed. I take my ticket with my number on it. The ticket informs me that I have 110 minute wait. Awesome.

I take a seat in the front row and pull out a book. “The Irresistible Revolution” by Shane Claiborne. Great book. Warning though, it will mess with you. I started reading and was enjoying the general atmosphere of the place. You see, people get really mad. I would too, if I waited 2 hours, finally got my number called and then they told me that I didn’t have the paperwork that I needed, and to come back tomorrow. To wait another 2 hours. Yeah, lots of happy people, with four letter words spewing out their mouth.

Anyways while I was sitting there reading, a girl probably around my age came in and sat down beside me. About 5 or 10 minutes later she asks me what kind of book I’m reading. I started to explain how the book is written by this guy that lives in Philadelphia and it’s his take on a Christian’s perspective of the war in Iraq, finances, community and lots of other really good stuff. She asked if she could buy it at Borders. I said, “well I bought mine at Provident/Berean. Do you know where that is?” She hadn’t and so I explained to her where it was. Then she asked if I could write down the title and author for her. As I’m writing down the title they finally call my number. I quickly finishing writing and headed up to the counter.

I only had about a page and a half left in the book. As the guy took my paperwork, passport and driver’s license I quickly finished reading it. Once all the paperwork was processed I headed out the door. But first, stopping by that girl and giving her the book and saying, “Here, I finished it. You can keep it.”

I walked out of there feeling so good. I haven’t felt that way in awhile. Giving something to someone when I necessarily wouldn’t of had to, but knowing I should. The whole concept in Scripture where Christ tells us to walk the second mile, and to give someone our cloak too has been going through my mind recently.

What does that look like today?

To not only give the information, but to give the actual book.

Go ahead. Give of yourself. Go the second mile. Give your cloak.

And feel the weight of self come off your shoulders.

Categories: Jesus teaching, life | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

