Response

One of my recent goals was to read through the Bible. I started in September with one of those handy Daily Bibles that has it broken down into 365 days.

I’m working my way through the Old Testament now and it’s going better than I had expected. I’ve gone through most of Numbers however I haven’t hit the wall of Leviticus yet.

Anyways, one thing that I’ve been thinking about a lot is when the Israelites are in between leaving Egypt and entering the Promised Land. Many of you are probably familiar with the whole “grumbling” scenario. They wanted food, God gave them manna. They wanted meat, God gave them quail. They wanted water, Moses struck a rock and water came out. Lots and lots of needs, lots of answered prayers/requests.

The thing that has stuck out to me is that every time a need arose, the first thing that the Israelites thought is that “God brought us out here to die in the desert.” Despite the numerous times He had provided for them.

In Numbers 20:2-5 it reads:

“Now there was no water for the community, and the people gathered in opposition to Moses and Aaron. They quarreled with Moses and said, “If only we had died when our brothers fell dead before the Lord! Why did you bring the Lord’s community into this desert, that we and our livestock should die here? Why did you bring us up out of Egypt to this terrible place? It has no grain or figs, grapevines or pomegranates. And there is no water to drink!”

This isn’t the first time the Israelites went before Moses complaining, more like the 15th time (that’s mentioned in the Bible). What I find intriguing is that every time a need arose they questioned God’s provision and immediately reverted to what they knew of as safe, which was Egypt. (Which by the way wasn’t so safe…) I don’t understand why they didn’t just come to Moses and say, “Moses, we’re in need of water. Can you ask God to send us water like he did the last time?” Instead of this complete attack against Moses and the Lord and the Lord’s plan for them.

Of course I had to ask myself, OK do I do this? The answer is always yes to those questions. Maybe it isn’t as blatant as the Israelites but the root is still the same. When something happens in my life or I feel like I’m in need of something, I begin to question the Lord’s plan for my life and His provision. Instead of saying, “Lord, thank you for working in my life thus far. Lord you’ve done (fill in the numerous times the Lord’s worked in my life). Therefore, I can believe that you’ll show up again and provide for me in this situation.” Instead I wonder if the Lord is really going to do anything or if my life will be miserable (exaggeration) forever.

I want to get at the point when I can stop questioning the Lord’s intentions towards me. I want to look at my life and see the goodness of the Lord in my past and be able to trust and believe Him for anything and everything that may arise in the future.

Categories: Jesus teaching | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

