Sleeping In

There is this band called Nevertheless. They recently released their sophomore album “In the Making.” I absolutely LOVE it. It is really good. One of my favorites on it is called “Sleeping In.”

Here are the lyrics:

I’ve been sleeping in for days,
‘Cause when I am awake,
I will have to face my life.
And I’m hoping it’s a phase.
The walls that I create
Can only make it seem alright.
And I get carried away like I’m the only one
Who’s ever felt the way that I do,
But I can hear you say, “You’re not the only one.
Everybody hopes to get through.”

And it’s got me sleeping in.
Every day God, it’s the same thing.
Yeah, you caught me sleeping in.
I’m still hiding; I’m still waiting.
I need you here with me to face the world outside
‘Cause I’m tired of sleeping in.

I’ve been waking up with fear,
‘Cause all that I can hear
Is the ringing of alarms downtown.
It’s been going on for years,
But you have made it clear
That I am not alone in this crowd.
And I get carried away like I’m the only one
Who’s ever felt the way that I do,
But I can hear you say, “You’re not the only one.
Everybody hopes to get through.”

And it’s got me sleeping in.
Every day God, it’s the same thing.
Yeah, you caught me sleeping in.
I’m still hiding; I’m still waiting.
I need you here with me to face the world outside
‘Cause I’m tired of sleeping in.

Open up my eyes.
I’m tired of sleeping in
In a world that’s dying to wake up.

I’m done with sleeping in.

For those of you who know me, know that one thing I do a lot is sleep in. I think the occasional sleeping in is more than fine. It’s when everyday becomes a struggle to get out of bed that it’s a problem. It’s been more of the latter for me. It’s probably one of the things that I dislike about myself the most. I love the lyric, “I’m tired of sleeping in, in a world that’s dying to wake up.” What’s a shame is that I know the Reason for waking up and living. Yet sadly, and apparently, it’s not enough.

I need an awakening. I need refocus. I need refreshing. I need a wake up call.

sigh.

Categories: life, Music | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

