Today’s Truth: In the midst of heartache, He is there

Disclaimer: This is my attempt at writing something more than once every three months on this blog. However, I know my weaknesses and will give you fair warning that though I have the best intentions… I fail. Often.

Today’s Truth – I will try and post something like this once a week. The past couple weeks I’ve been reminded of the importance of sharing my story. How the Lord is rescuing, redeeming and ransoming me every day. The knowledge that the Lord allows each of us to go through situations to encourage one another in the struggle. (2 Corinthians 1:4) The Bible tells us in Revelation 12:11, “They overcame him by the blood of the Lamb and by the word of their testimony.” The importance of testimony is very underrated to me within the context of the church today. God moves in mighty ways but due to my lack of sharing and horrible memory… I forget! This is an attempt to write down the goodness of the Lord and hopefully encourage you wherever you are in the journey of life.

There will probably be many entries that share the same title as today’s. Life is filled with heartache and each time our heart aches, it is another opportunity to experience the love of the Father. One such time for me was the summer before my senior year of high school. It was a typical Wednesday night. I went to youth group – had a great time – came home to the house in a fairly chipper mood. My sister informs me that a ton of people have been calling, and she doesn’t know what is going on. At that moment one of my friends called. Within a few phone calls I slowly began to understand what had happened. My friend, Ashley, died in a car accident just weeks before our senior year started. She was 17.

Over the next few days and weeks I found myself in places I normally wouldn’t have gone. I went to the houses’ of people I didn’t even know. But it was OK. We were all grieving the same thing. The death of a friend that came way to early, and the sober realization of life and it’s shortness. For me this time held an even greater need. Many of my friends did not know the Lord. There we were mourning together, and questions were flying. There I was – knowing I had a hope that was eternal. An assurance that each person wanted at that time. To this day I had some of the best conversations about Jesus with my friends in those days and weeks after Ashley’s death. I had to know the Word and ask God what was going on. What do I say? I knew the Lord, but that didn’t silence the questions and wonderings. The one day I was reading my Bible searching for Truth, searching for a light and I found it. Isaiah 57: 1 says,

The righteous perish,
and no one ponders it in his heart;
devout men are taken away,
and no one understands
that the righteous are taken away
to be spared from evil.

I can not tell you how much comfort this verse brought. God reaffirming me of His promises of a Kingdom eternal, of a Kingdom of joy and not pain. A Kingdom of love and not evil.

Through this time I learned that God is EAGER to hold us in our heartache. That he DESIRES for us to know his heart in every situation – even the bad ones. That his word is ETERNAL. Effect for EVERY season.

Categories: Jesus teaching | Tags: , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

